It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? August 12, 2013

August 12, 2013

IMWAYR

This week I started going into my classroom in earnest and getting things “organized”. It seems I did not do this last year as some stuff was that old!

I read:

 
 
Roscoe Riley Rules #2 Never Swipe a Bully’s Bear  by Katherine Applegate3407422

I loved the earnestness of the main character and think this series is going to be great for some of my less confident readers.

The Hoboken Chicken Emergency by Daniel Pinkwater

63324

This zany adventure with a HUGE chicken will appeal to some fun loving kids!

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place The Mysterious Howling by Maryrose Wood

I listened to the audio version of this and it was a great way to begin the series.

6609748

Josie to the Rescue by Marilyn Singer

This is an older book, but one that will appeal to kids who like Ivy and Bean and Clementine. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked it.

9783566

How We Are Smart by W.Nikola-Lisa

1725842

This poetry book introduces people and their strengths according to multiple intelligences. We have a unit on identity where we talk about many ways of being smart, so this will be a good link.

All of the above books earned 4 out of 5 stars according to me!

This week I plan to read :…Eek! We are officially back to school on Monday with 3 inservice days and I need to get cruising to make my #bookaday goals- so I will be looking for more great books for third grade!

Happy reading!

Don’t forget to look at www.teachmentortexts.com and www.unleashingreaders.com for more great reads!

 

 IMWAYR

Leave a Reply

