It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? August 19, 2013

August 19, 2013

IMWAYR

This week it all gets real! teachers are officially back to school TODAY! Students are back on Thursday. On Wednesday we welcome our new students for a short visit and then I am hosting an ice cream party for my old class so that we can toast a sweet new year and talk about our summer reading. Because I am pressed for time I will only share two books this week, my favorite picture book and my favorite chapter book of the week.

I read:

 7309806-1
Lulu and the Brontosaurus  written by Judith Viorst and illustrated by lane Smith

This may end up being my first chapter book read aloud for the year. Judith Viorst talks to the reader, and I always like that! The book is funny and a quick read and I think my new students will like it!

The Matchbox Diary written by Paul Fleischman, illustrated by Bagram Ibatoulline

15798648

This book will tie in nicely with a unit that we have later in the year that focuses on migration, but I may also use it for our identity unit. It is a book that wil appeal to young writers and has a sense of humor.

 

This week I plan to read : I will finish The Surprise Attack of Jabba the Puppet. I can’t wait to share great books with my new class. My summer reading books are on my door and a “What We Are Reading” sign is waiting to be used.

Happy reading!

Don’t forget to look at www.teachmentortexts.com and www.unleashingreaders.com for more great reads!

 

 IMWAYR

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? August 19, 2013

Leave a Reply

