5 Things I Loved About Last Week

Colby Sharp (a grade 3 teacher I really admire @colbysharp) has posted with this title the last two weeks and I think it is a great way to think positively on a Sunday, so with his permission I have taken the same title.

Last week I loved:

1. New books–  I brought in new books to the classroom and quickly book talked them and had kids search them out shortly after. I love bringing in new books and I am happy that this new class is finding lots of books to fall in love with already.

2. Our second author Skype- Ame Dyckman (author of Boy + Bot and the upcoming Tea Party Rules) Skyped with us this week. Not only is she a really positive person, but she sent us a great big package of great book swag- the kids were so excited. I was wowed when one of the students asked if Ame could read some of her new book and Ame read the whole thing! Needless to say I have already preordered it. I love authors who inspire students. It was informative to hear what they learned from the session.

3. Kids from other classes keep borrowing books from our classroom- I LOVE that students feel like they can come in and borrow books and I love that it sends a positive message about great books being in our midst. Books are my main splurge and I love to share.

4. Dot Day– International Dot Day has been a lot of fun! We have not limited it to one day. We have used the colAR app to bring some dots to life, created dots in class and in art, Skyped with a class in Istanbul, and have plans to paint the sidewalk with dots next week. We will lead our first assembly of the year with a dot theme next week!

5. Planning Ahead– Global Read Aloud begins September 30th and we will be reading Marty McGuire and collaborating with a number of classes all over the world. That means that this week we share videos with a few classes, so last week we filmed short introductions. We will start blogging in earnest next week and the students are getting into being connected learners.

 

BONUS- Our school is piloting a home language program for the six most common languages in our elementary school. German, English, Hebrew, Arabic, Russian, and Dutch now have special sessions once a week. Students who speak a language not represented in a large enough number are also meeting in a small group. We started this week with a lesson across the elementary school about what our names mean. It was so fabulous to see our kids working in small groups with their home language tutor. The pride they took when they saw the name cards they made displayed on our door was obvious. I look forward to seeing how the program evolves.

 

I can’t wait to see what great stuff this week will bring! Happy Autumn!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

