It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? September 30, 2013

September 30, 2013

IMWAYR

At long last I am writing about my reading again. Somehow the start of this year has felt busier than ever and blogging has fallen by the wayside (as has lots of reading:( ).

This week I read:

The Sasquatch Escape by Suzanne Selfors. This book came highly recommended and I loved it! I can’t wait to pass it on to animal lovers in my class. 4/5 stars

   15790869

I was so excited to finally receive The Illuminated Adventures of Flora and Ulysses by Kate di Camillo. I raced through this book and loved the voice and humor. I think this would be a great read aloud.

16052012

I visited a local book shop and found the next two picture books there. The Snatchabook by Helen Docherty spoke to something I have been thinking about lately. Many students I ask are no longer being read to. Some of my most precious parenting memories are reading aloud to my boys and it is sad (to me) that some students and their parents are missing these times. Kids can access so many great book when they hear them that they can not independently read. The best part of reading great books aloud is that it also gives those involved a shared language as connections can be made from these times.

17773504

Hello, My Name is Ruby by Philip C. Stead tells the story of a bird looking for friends. The illustrations are beautiful.

17199269

This week we begin reading Marty McGuire aloud for the Global Read Aloud and I can’t wait to have my class connect with lots of other learners!

Happy reading!

Don’t forget to look at www.teachmentortexts.com and www.unleashingreaders.com for more great reads!

 

 IMWAYR

Leave a Reply

