5 Things I Loved About Last Week- November 3

Thanks @colbysharp for the great idea for a regular reflection post!

Last week I loved: It was break, what was not to love?!?

5. I completed an online course! I signed up for a course called Understanding Autism. Knowing that the work was all due December 9th put me in a bit of a panic. My goal was to get the bulk of it done this week and I happily finished it all. It was a worthwhile course, but I am super happy that I got it finished. I will be using the resources a lot.

4. Read lots!– Before break started I asked my kids to set reading goals for the break. I got the feeling that many of them had never considered reading a part of their break plans (yet!). I said that my goal was to read 10 books, and I am happy to say that I made it (I think I read 11). I hope the kids have also read lots. I love having more time to read, especially as I have been in a bit of a reading slump lately.

3. Professional Reading– I was so happy to read that Donalyn Miller’s new book, Reading in the Wild was available on Kindle before it was available in print! This meant I got to read it over break. It is a great book that any teacher should read! I know I will refer to this again and again. I am so glad that I had the time to read it carefully. I have also begun a great book on mindset in the classroom and have recommended it as a professional book club book.

2. Planning– This week coming up we will have our first “genius hour” of the year. As we have a challenge workshop program for kids who show a talent in a particular area at this time I want to emphasize that we all have talents. This will be a natural extension of reader/writer workshop, but will give students an exciting opportunity.

1. More books for the class– I visited a local book store twice and put in orders for many more books online. I am (as always) excited to share these! I look forward to starting our Mock Caldecott study as part of Picture Book Month.

This week we start with an inservice day on Monday. Part of the day will be spent in a mini EdCamp format and I am excited to see how this can work at our school. I hope lots of people see it as a really positive thing. I feel rejuvenated and ready to head back!

Happy Sunday! What are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

