5 Things I Loved About Last Week- December 22

Thanks @colbysharp for the great idea for a regular reflection post!

Last week I loved:

5. Readathon- On the last day of school before break (Wednesday) I told the kids if they had all of their “must do” work finished they could have a morning readathon after recess. I told them they could bring books in their home language, read alone or with a friend, and enjoy a relaxed reading session.

4. Gifts- My students know me well and I got some beautiful cards, some  chocolate, a new tea mug and a gift card to a local independent book store, a cookbook and a few other treats!

3. Hugs– Sadly, I missed most of our end of year party because of a mandatory principal selection committee meeting, but I rejoined my class as they were walking to art, and although I had only been away for an hour I got lots of hugs- I love these kids!

2. Holiday Reading Plans- My students all made holiday reading plans where they wrote about where they could read, what they would read, who they would read with, and set reading goals. I meant to send these plans home so that the parents could help “remind” the students, but alas, time got away from me. I hope they make sure to read!

1. Gifts– I gave each of my students a few small gifts. They predicted I would gift books. I gave them each an “I’m Bored” book mark printed from Debbie Ohi’s website (thank you, Debbie!), a Lindt chocolate animal (because Lindt chocolate is my favorite), and a copy of Lulu Walks the Dogs by Judith Viorst. I chose the book because it is the second in a series and we read the first at the start of the year as our first chapter book read aloud and the kids LOVED it. When they were taking their gifts back to their seats, many already had their noses buried in the book.

This week we are on break and I look forward to spending time with friends and family at “home” in Boston. I will spend lots of time in book stores and aim for #bookaday. I have to prepare for a presentation on integrating technology in a literacy classroom that I will share at the Association of German International Schools in January. School is back in session on January 6th for teachers and the 8th for students.

Leave a Reply

