World Read Aloud Day #wrad14 Blog Challenge

World-Read-Aloud-Day-2014

Matthew Winner invited me to join this blog challenge, so here goes! I find I am more likely to blog if I have publicly committed to something. I have been terrible about not blogging lately- sorry!

http://www.busylibrarian.com/2014/02/world-read-aloud-day-blogging-challenge.html

He says: The World Read Aloud Day “Raising Our Voices” Blogging Challenge begins February 10 and runs through March 9. If you choose to take the challenge, each week you will be asked to write a post in response to a prompt or question (outlined below), for a total of 4 posts counting down to World Read Aloud Day.

Each of the prompts addresses the WRAD theme “Raising Our Voices.” Raising Our Voices encapsulates that simple yet effective way we show the world’s children we support their future: that they have the right to read, to write, and to share their words to change the world.

WRAD Raising Our Voices Blogging Challenge: Weekly Outline

Week 2: February 17 – 23

Adult & Child

Answering the following questions with a child. The child can be a student or your own. Age does not matter. Make sure to exchange and enjoy answers with one another before sharing them with us.

 

I asked two of my third grade students to join in with me, so here are our responses:

 

1. I think everyone in the world should read…

Me: every day!

Child: S- Spiderwick Chronicles

L-The Origami Yoda series

Me- Roald Dahl- he can tell a story!

(repeat this format for the remaining questions)

2. If I could listen to anyone in the world read aloud to me it would be…

S- Charles Rennie Mackintosh (a Scottish artist that he has recently researched)

L- My grandfather (who has died)

3. When I read aloud, my favorite character to impersonate is…

S- Thimbletack

L- the main character

me- anyone who has the set- up before the dialogue (there is nothing I hate more than reading aloud a section and then seeing… “whispered X.” Ooops!

4. The genre or author that takes up the most room on my bookshelf (or e-reader) is…

S- information books

L- Diary of a Wimpy Kid

me- realistic fiction

5. My favorite part about reading aloud or being read to is…

S- hearing a new thing

L- expression

me- the shared experiences and how the books we share become a part of our community and language.

We are looking forward to celebrating!

Leave a Reply

