World Read Aloud Day #wrad14 Blog Challenge- Week ending March 2

World-Read-Aloud-Day-2014

Matthew Winner invited me to join this blog challenge, so here goes! I find I am more likely to blog if I have publicly committed to something. I have been terrible about not blogging lately- sorry!

http://www.busylibrarian.com/2014/02/world-read-aloud-day-blogging-challenge.html

He says: The World Read Aloud Day “Raising Our Voices” Blogging Challenge begins February 10 and runs through March 9. If you choose to take the challenge, each week you will be asked to write a post in response to a prompt or question (outlined below), for a total of 4 posts counting down to World Read Aloud Day.

Each of the prompts addresses the WRAD theme “Raising Our Voices.” Raising Our Voices encapsulates that simple yet effective way we show the world’s children we support their future: that they have the right to read, to write, and to share their words to change the world.

WRAD Raising Our Voices Blogging Challenge: Weekly Outline

Week 1: February 10 – 16

What is your earliest or fondest memory in which someone read aloud to you?

Your first mission is to answer this question. We are using this prompt to bring awareness to the impact reading aloud and the act of being read to has on readers of all ages. Consider it an opportunity to connect with others through the shared experience of hearing stories read aloud.

After answering the prompt, share a short description of how you plan to celebrate WRAD on March 5. Who will you celebrate with? Where will you be? If you have celebrated WRAD in the past, what activities brought you and those you celebrated with the most joy? If you haven’t finalized plans, of if this will be your first WRAD celebration, use this space to share your brainstorming process, and direct your readers to litworld.org/worldreadaloudday for activities and recommendations.

So, here goes!

Week 3- A Snapshot of My Reading Life

photo

 

I have a problem! I am addicted to buying books. I read (a lot) and I really like to own the books that I read. I live in Germany, so access to English books is not always easy. I read books from the school library, but… I also buy lots of books via Kindle, trade with friends, and happily listen to the occasional audio book, but mostly I buy books. The adult fiction I read I never feel I must own, but the kid lit and professional reading I do, welll That is a different story- I NEED those forever (or at least for a long time).  I use Scholastic books, I frequent independent book stores around town, and I use Amazon.de a lot!

I am moving this summer to Malaysia and I am really stressed about whether I will be able to bring all of my class and professional books. I do not plan to bring furniture, as I am not attached to what I have, but I NEED my books. I am trying to imagine whether my shipping allowance will cover all of the books (and trying to figure out a plan B just in case).

Goodreads has been the way I have tracked my reading for 2013 and 2014 and I love to look back at favorite reads. How will I ever decide what will slide into my suitcase and what I will have to wait months to see again!?!

I look forward to celebrating books with my class this week!

 

Leave a Reply

