#nerdlution

I did not do very well with my #nerdlutions last year, but this year is a new chance!

#nerdlution started last year with a bunch of Nerdy Book Club people on Twitter trying to motivate/support each other to make positive changes in the new year (there were even two rounds).

This year I am in it make my changes!

Thanks to @MrazKristine for the logo!

nerdlution-1-768x1024

I am going to:

1. Read a picture book a day. My reading total was down in 2014, mostly due to a busy move across the world and settling in to a new school, but now I am here and it is time to read more. I do not have access to books at home, so this will start up once I am back to school on the 12th, but I will read some extra to make it a #bookaday. I know I have some that I ordered waiting for me at school and I have also ordered a few more via a friend. I will use our school library to fill some reading gaps too.

2. Drink more water. I live in a tropical climate and I know I need to drink more water than I do. My goal is to drink 4 liters a day (a bit more than a gallon). I know this will make me feel better and be good for me too.

3. Blog a least once a week. I have been TERRIBLE about blogging and I really need to get back to it. I enjoy it, and never worry about how few people read it, as it is a really a place for me to reflect. So, I will push myself to blog at least once a week. I would like to try out different formats (such as Slice of Life, It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?, etc, so I find a routine that will help keep me going).

4. Reflect on my new #olw daily. My word for 2014 was “brave”. I used it as a focus as I took the plunge and took on a new job at a new school far away from anyone I know. It was the perfect word for me last year. This year I am ready for “change”. I love the idea that Gandhi may have said something similar to “Be the change you want to see in the world” even though the New York Times tells me that it is a misrepresentation ( http://www.nytimes.com/2011/08/30/opinion/falser-words-were-never-spoken.html?_r=0 ). I think instead of waiting for things around me to change I have to be more of a change maker, even if they are tiny changes that only I may notice. I sometimes think about the changes I think should be made and wait for someone else to make the first move. This is true in my professional life as well as in my personal life, so I am going to look for opportunities to make positive changes every day. It took me a while to choose my word- others considered include: today, positive, better, and present, so I am trying to incorporate those words and more in my #olw.

Here’s hoping that my #nerdlutions will work for me. I am looking forward to reading about others.

Leave a Reply

