#nf10for10- Better Late Than Never Edition- Not What (or Who) You Might Expect!

c67b2-nfpb10for10

Well, I did not really think I would get my act together to participate in this awesome day, but I have been promised that there are no “rules” to it, so even though I am late, here goes…

Today I am celebrating those who go beyond “the expected”. I like to think there are many ways of being a part of this world, and fitting in has never been my favorite. In no particular order I give you:

 ivan the gorilla

A gorilla taken from his homeland and raised as a household pet for awhile, Ivan has captured the hearts of many, particularly since Katherine Applegate told his fictional so eloquently. His true story is told in a lovely narrative style that has you rooting for this underdog.

9781452107929_p0_v2_s260x420

Teaching in international schools means many of my students feel “foreign”. This book reminds us all that different is part of what makes us special.

el deafo

Cece Bell’s book is such hot property in my class. The students love the story and are seeing that someone’s abilities is not who you are.  Yay for a graphic novel Newbery Honor!9781596438743_p0_v1_s260x420

So great white sharks are not beloved by all, but this book helped me to see them in a sympathetic light. Watching Katherine Roy’s book trailer that showed her creating some of the art was breathtaking!

Creature features

So, animals distinctive features often have a very good purpose and who better to teach us about this, but Steve Jenkins- one of my go to nonfiction heroes!

9780061783746_p0_v3_s114x166

A man who did things his own way throughout his lifetime. What more can I say?! Kadir Nelson is  amazing here too.

 Noisy-Paint-Box

I loved this story of an unruly artist- seeing and hearing things his own way.

9780763673154_p0_v4_s114x166

Who else but Nicola Davies could make microbes so interesting. These tiny things are often blamed, but here they get credit too.

The-Right-Word

Roget did not fit in to the society he lived in, but made his own way and his love of words can still inspire us today. The detail in this book (both by the author and illustrator) is such that you will come back to this book repeatedly.14553643I love all of the books in this series, but picked this one because it reminds me of my great friend, Lisa. Rocks tell stories and the amount of information in an engaging format that these books pack in is wonderful.

So there you have it, 10 books I love that go beyond what is expected!

4 thoughts on “#nf10for10- Better Late Than Never Edition- Not What (or Who) You Might Expect!

Leave a Reply

