SOLC27- March 27, 2015 Break Starts Now!

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

March 27, 2015

Break Starts Now!

Cleaning up my classroom (a little) and saying goodbye to colleagues at school it started to sink in- break was really here. I had put up with others blogging, tweeting, Facebooking, etc about their breaks for the last few weeks, but now it was my time!

Tonight was a birthday celebration for a friend to ease me into relaxation mode. I met up with a friend and we went over to the home of a lovely couple we know. We enjoyed a little bubbly and toasted the man of the hour on his special day! We then went to a nearby venue for drinks in a bar with a lovely view of the Kuala Lumpur skyline. We sampled their signature drink- a chili infused mojito- very interesting. Then we moved down the hall to an Italian fusion restaurant and there we each chose our own dish. My seafood pasta was chosen on the waiter’s recommendation and was delicious. I noticed my friend talking to the waiter privately once or twice, but thought nothing of it. We shared the last bit of one friend’s lamb and eggplant canneloni, but not without incident. In the sharing a good portion landed on the clean, white tablecloth. A nasty stain was left behind, deftly covered by flowers left on the table. A few minutes later the chef came out to talk to my friend as it turned out she had asked the waiter to send him out. We complimented him on our meals and she mentioned that a colleague who writes a local food blog had sent us to his restaurant. A few minutes later we got a delicious surprise- the chef sent out a dessert chest for us. It had many shelves each holding tiny treats like macaroons, cheesecake, and a variety of other cakes. It was a delicious meal and a great evening with good friends. As we headed down in the elevator to return home S. remembered she had wanted to end the evening at the rooftop bar, so we headed back up. We walked around, but agreed we were too full and tired to have a nightcap. In addition the other three people are all travelling early in the morning.

The night was a great start to break and will actually be perhaps my only social get togther this week. I am not travelling over break and as is usual at international schools most other people will fly off somewhere else. As for me I plan to use lots of my time for reading. I have a great big stack of books just waiting for me!

Phew- it is break!

3 thoughts on “SOLC27- March 27, 2015 Break Starts Now!

Leave a Reply

