SOLC29- March 29, 2015 5 Things I Loved About This Week

11454297503_e27946e4ff_hcelebrate-image

March 29, 2015

5 Things I Loved About This Week (in no particular order)

  1. Reading Plans- As is our habit before a break we shared our reading plans in class. This time I had them talk with a partner to share. Then I set them free to book shop. Usually they are allowed to keep up to 4 books in their book box at a time (and only one from the classroom is supposed to go home at night, more can from the school library). Today I told them that they could take home as many as they wanted- they just had to write the titles and their names on a sticky and try to read them over break. You should have heard the excitement!
  2. A New Reader- The parent of a new student shared that his child does not really read beyond the time that the parent reads with the child at night. This week I saw signs that this is changing. He took a few books for his book box the first day and read them, sort of. When he was ready to exchange books I walked over to the class library with him and introduced him to a few graphic novels. He tore through the Ricky Ricotta books that we have in the classroom and was ready two days later for more. I told him that one of his classmates had really enjoyed the series and also liked The Flying Beaver Brothers. He skeptically took one. Friday in our book shopping frenzy he took the other 4 in the series and he was really excited to take them home to share with his parents.
  3. 24 Hour Skype- Beverly Ladd, a teacher I “know” from Twitter had this idea that she would do a 24 hour Skype with her students to introduce them to students all over the world. We collaborated on a Padlet earlier in the year to introduce the two classes and Friday we were the 29th of 33 classes she had scheduled. It was an interesting way for us to spend time in the hour before break started (I was down to 13 students at that point from the normal 20).
  4.  Slice of Life Challenge- On an average day we have had 12 or so students slicing. I love the way it has encouraged us to try new formats and the fact that we are looking at everyday things differently. Many times during sharing a student will comment, “That sounds like a good slice.” I was not sure about jumping into this myself for the first time this year, but I am so glad I did and so glad that I encouraged my students to join in too.
  5. Spring Break = Change of Pace- Break started Saturday and I can already feel a change. I love having time to do what I love (reading, planning, catching up on Twitter). Yesterday I did not feel great (conjunctivitis due to allergies), but because it was the start of break it did not stress me out at all. I went and got medicine, shopped for books, did some reading and spent more time on Twitter than I have in weeks. I can already tell that I will return to school feeling refreshed and ready for the last two months of the school year. I love my job, but I also need my time away so that some balance is enforced.

Have a great week ahead!

4 thoughts on “SOLC29- March 29, 2015 5 Things I Loved About This Week

  1. debbussewitz

    Congratulations on beginning your spring break. Mine comes this coming Friday. Rest, relax and rejuvenate! Thank you for sharing this journey with me this month. Your kind comments kept me going!
    ~Deborah

    Reply
  2. Samantha Marquardt

    Through your writing, I can tell how much you love being a teacher. And you are right–a break is good for all of us as it rejuvenates us and helps us take on the rest of the year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

