SOLC31- March 31, 2015 Wow!

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

March 31, 2015

I have to be completely honest- I never imagined that I would be able to slice for 31 days straight (and comment on at least 3 slices each day as well).

Some of my major takeaways:

  • It was more fun than I thought it would be
  • It was as much work as I anticipated
  • I still have lots of ideas written down for future slices (ha, that means I will slice in the future!)
  • I only drafted on paper a few times- I thought I always would because I am not a great typist
  • I loved doing this challenge with my students- sometimes we even tried the same ideas in our slices
  • Comments can help keep you going
  • There are so many ways to slice
  • I am a better teacher of writing because of this
  • I would recommend this to all (teachers especially)
  • I need to branch out into more genres/forms of writing
  • I got so many great ideas from this community (not just for writing)
  • I want to keep slicing throughout the year
  • I am going to be a little “lost” tomorrow- look for me on Twitter @Victortweets
  • I want to thank everyone who is part of the slicing community- thanks for writing, thanks for reading, thanks for commenting. Thanks especially to the wonderful organizers and veterans who started it all.
  • See you next Tuesday???

5 thoughts on “SOLC31- March 31, 2015 Wow!

  1. Jill Derosa

    This was my first time doing the challenge and it feels so satisfying that I made it to the end. It was hard work but worth every minute. I especially valued the dialogue about the challenge with my students as I showed them that even teachers have to push themselves and set goals to aspire to.

    Reply
  2. lgrainger125

    I found such satisfaction in finishing this challenge. I am far more committed to doing the Tuesday Slices. If I can do this for a month, I can do one per week.

    Reply
  3. mlvteach

    I feel a lot of satisfaction just from the fact that I completed it. I doubt that I will slice on Tuesdays, but I will definitely keep writing. Good luck to you!

    Reply
  4. Alan J Wright

    What an incredible list of discoveries about your writing revelations across a month of intense writing. Please share this with as many people as you can. It deserves to be heard by a wide audience. It’s empowering to go on such a journey.

    Reply
  5. mrssurridge

    What an excellent list of take-aways. This was my fourth year slicing and I’m always amazed at how rewarding it is to write 31 days in a row. I’m so glad you brought your students with you to the slice of life. I loved reading their slices also. You have some great writers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

