5 Things I Loved About Last Week- April 5, 2015

celebrate-image

April 5, 2015

  1. Spring Break- need I say more? I am just ending a week off of school- I LOVE my job, but I so appreciate breaks. I was a little worried about this break, because none of my friends were going to be around and I am not good about doing things alone, but I found the break very peaceful and just what I needed. I perfected alone time and will be ready for the hive of activity that is our classroom.
  2. Books– I *may* have been to the book store four times this week as of this writing. I have bought 20 new books for the classroom (and read about half of them). I loved having extra time to read and mixed it up- I read professionally, kid lit, and even read a Louise Penny mystery. One book I read was Kate Messner’s 59 Reasons to Write and I was so surprised to see that a letter I had contributed to the Teachers Write website the summer before last was in the book! Wow! What an honor!
  3. Writing– Which leads me to writing! This week I finished the Two Teachers Write March Slice of Life Challenge. As I reflected there I really was not sure that I would be able to complete the whole challenge, but I did and it felt great! I was also so happy to have my students involved as well. More than half of my third graders sliced 25 or more days (with at least 8 of them slicing daily!). It was fun to try out new formats with them and see confidence grow as their writing came alive. It helped me see myself as more of a writer, which has to be a good thing.
  4. Music- In Berlin many of my friends and colleagues were musically talented (as are my sons). I miss having music be a regular part of my life. I have gone to several concerts at the Malaysia Philharmonic and have been impressed, so this week my plan was to attend two concerts- ALONE. As I said above I do not do as much on my own as I should, so this was me pushing myself. Tuesday the Youth Orchestra played with their adult counterparts. I sat next to a teenager who is a part of the youth orchestra and he gave me some good background knowledge. Friday night was a jazz night, with a conductor, trumpeter, pianist, and drummer brought in from the US, all supported by the MPO. It was meant to be a celebration of Mardi Gras set in New Orleans and it was so fun! I am always so surprised that the concerts are not better attended here, as I think they have a good venue and talent.
  5. Planning Ahead- I enjoyed having time this week to plan ahead for our nonfiction/research unit. I think I have gathered resources and ideas for reading and writing that will help make this unit on earth and space great. As is always the case once you start looking for something you see it everywhere, I found some good online resources, looked over books that I have, and purchased some more. I also finally booked my trip “home” for the summer. I will be in the US for 3 weeks and will try to make it a good mix- I will attend nErDcampMI (Michigan), the IRA Conference (St. Louis), and visit a friend (Atlanta). I will also get to spend time with my immediate and extended family in Boston. It will be a quick trip but will allow me to see 3 cities I have never been to and relax a bit.

I hope the week ahead is great for you!

2 thoughts on “5 Things I Loved About Last Week- April 5, 2015

  1. Karen

    Kate Messner’s 59 Reasons to Write is on my list to read. I look forward to reading your letter! Have a great week back at school!

    Reply
  2. wahooteacher

    #2 on your list made me smile because I did the same thing! I love 59 Reasons to Write and also highly recommend Kate Messner’s Real Revision. It also sounds like you have some exciting travel plans!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

