SOL- Ah, Summer PD!

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

July 14, 2015

Ah, Summer PD!

Every summer I set myself “homework” and read and read and read (both professional books and loads of books that I want to use in my classroom), For the last few years I have participated in #cyberpd, which I love, as the organizers always seem to pick amazing books and I learn so much from the discussion. This summer I planned my time around a few PD opportunities (nErDCampMI I wrote about last week). Today was… Scholastic’s Book Summit in Boston (actually Norwood, but advertised as being in Boston).

I need time to process my amazing day, but it is Tuesday, so here is a word cloud:

Screen Shot 2015-07-14 at 8.55.44 PM

A special thank you to John Schumacher (@MrSchuReads) and Donalyn Miller (@donalynbooks) who were fabulous presenters and fun to be with (in addition to being so inspirational!). Also I loved meeting up with amazing educators I follow on Twitter. If there is a Scholastic Book Summit coming anywhere near you I highly recommend you attend.

4 thoughts on “SOL- Ah, Summer PD!

  1. Michelle @litlearningzone

    Erika,
    I wrote about my summer learning today too! This is why we need summer as educators! Time to catch up on reading, reflecting, writing, and growing! So thankful for the #cyberPD shout out too! 🙂 I’ve been reading many tweets about the Reading Summit — will need to read more about it!

    Thanks for sharing!
    Michelle

    Reply
  2. Carol

    I love, love, love the time to read in the summer. Every fall I vow I am going to keep reading, but then it doesn’t happen, or at least not nearly as much. The Scholastic Summit sounds so fantastic! I wish there was one closer to Denver!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

