SOL- August 4, 2015 First Day of School!

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

SOL- August 4, 2015

First Day of School

For a change, I slept last night, the night before the first day of school,

Woke up a bit early, and went to school- so much to do that first morning,

Lovely visitors, children of a colleague- organizing books for me, just before the first day of school,

Meeting the kids, learning the names,

Morning Meeting, how we start to build community,

Reading a book, thinking about being brave, discussing our hopes and dreams for the year,

Sharing ideas, asking questions,

Learning about a love of reading- watching a video (thanks, @colbysharp), then jumping on a desk to proclaim for myself,

Later- at the end of a busy day, saying goodbye,

Realizing it has happened again- so soon- these new little people already finding a place in my heart,

On the first day of school!

6 thoughts on “SOL- August 4, 2015 First Day of School!

  1. Maureen Ingram

    I admit I shied away from reading your post, b/c I have not yet had to say goodbye to summer…but I’m so glad I read it. You have described such a lovely day! Love your words,”these new little people already finding a place in my heart.” Happy year!!

    Reply
  2. mrssurridge

    While your title was daunting, your list made me smile. It sounds like you began perfectly. Have a great year with those new little people.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

