SOL- Book Clubs!

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

February 16, 2016

Book Clubs

It is a time the students have been waiting for- we are back to book clubs. Just before our Christmas break, we had “mini book clubs” where the students read nonfiction books. Then we practiced having student-led conversations and pushing thinking. These book clubs are more- they are working in these groups for a longer stretch of time and the chapter books they will read require a lot more thought.

Anticipation built as we moved through our Character Studies unit- when would the book clubs start? Monday (yesterday) was the day- the clubs were set! Then they had the work of choosing a group name, agreeing on a first book, and beginning to sort out group expectations and norms. Today (Tuesday) we had a bit of a slide back- four students forgot their books, some had not done the reading their group had agreed to. So today each group spent time together- creating a poster with their club name, deciding upon group expectations, and really bonding as a group. We spent time talking about the need to depend on each other to be ready for group.  Hopefully, tomorrow will be a better day for that. As students created reading calendars together I could hear their chatter. They were sharing thoughts about what they were reading, remarking on each reader’s strengths in the group, coming together to work on shared agreements. Sometimes I have to take a step back and notice the work that we are asking these students to do is really complex- and the best part is they are loving it!

As students were packing up I heard one boy (who had forgotten his book at home) go around to his club members to remind them of what they had agreed to read tonight. At home, as I prepare for tomorrow I am reading all four books. I hope that Ivy and Bean, Roscoe Riley, Gooney Bird Greene, and Amber Brown will become shared friends in the class- I will listen for the connections they make to these kids who could be like them, or like someone they know. I love the power of shared reading to help build community.

7 thoughts on “SOL- Book Clubs!

  1. Kate Schwarz

    I’m not a teacher–but I do love sharing my love of reading with my own kids and through my book blog. (Shameless plug http://www.katesbookery.blogspot.com) I want to join one of your book groups! I’m so curious how you let kids choose their books–do they have a few to choose from, or do they have free range? I am a big fan of middle grade books (Have you read Looking For Me or Pax yet?? Two new middle grade books that would be great to discuss in my humble opinion!).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

