Checking In

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

#sol17- January 10, 2017

Yikes, I missed the first slicing date of 2017, so sad, but wifi was an impossibility where I was, so…

My #olw for 2017 is brave and I have now lived with it for 10 days and it has already served me well, so I thought I would write about a time I had to be brave already this year. Some of my need for brave is knowing I need to be more brave about doing things alone. Last week I was visiting South Korea for the first time, to visit with my son who is teaching English there. We spent some time together on the 31st and 1st in Seoul, but then he returned to Suwon and I met him there on the 2nd. I won’t even tell you about the adventure I had meeting up with him in Suwon, but know I was brave!

On the 3rd I was set to have an adventure at the Hwaseong Fortress, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. My son walked me as far as his turn off for work and said, “Keep going straight. For me, it is a 20-minute walk, which means for you, it will take about 30 minutes.” With that he was off and I was meant to meet him 6 1/2 hours later.

As I walked I kept an eye out for a place to eat- I had not had anything yet. Eventually, I found a sweet looking coffee shop and managed to order tea and spend a cozy half hour writing, but left still hungry.

IMG_2915.JPG

A bit further down the road, I noticed a sign that said “Apple Kimbap”. Kimbap is seaweed wrapped rice with various fillings (which I love) and since the sign was in English I decided that the menu might have English too, so I hurried inside. Well, I was wrong. This tiny mom and pop cafe had a menu on the wall all in Korean. The server was washing tables, so I slid into an empty seat. A few minutes she came to me and I said, Kimbap,”

She responded, “Mumbledy, mumbledy kimbap?” and I nodded. Really, what choice did I have? I had to take my chances.

As luck would have it a few minutes later I was served a small bowl of broth some of the side dishes that accompany all Korean meals and a freshly rolled kimbap, which I happily devoured.

 IMG_2916.JPG

I was two for two with my brave dining adventures.

I eventually made it to the fortress and spent a lovely afternoon exploring, but got soooooo lost on the way back to meet my son! It turns out my sense of direction is not any better in a new country and not having a map or knowing the name of the street I was looking for (never mind not being able to read the signs) matter. Brave came to my rescue again when I happened to eventually see a tourist information booth. After a very long bus ride we eventually met up.

Brave is having an impact back at home and work too and I am really trying to use this word to help me challenge myself. So far, so good.

4 thoughts on “Checking In

  1. Kimberley

    What courage! Brave is my daughter’s one little word as well. I think it’s one of the best words out there. We all need a bit of bravery to get through, don’t we?

    Reply
  2. sallydonnelly11

    Love your OLW and reading about how it helped while traveling. I know that feeling and it does take conscience effort to be brave when trying not to get too lost in a new place. Thanks for adding the link. WOW. What a fortress! Loved traveling with you via your blog!

    Reply
  3. mbhmaine

    Brave is an opening into many adventures and it sounds like you’re well on your way. Solo adventuring is uber brave if you ask me! I think you get extra credit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

