To Know Me

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

#sol17- February 14, 2017

A new student started about two weeks ago with very limited English. As is always our custom on day 1 with new students we introduce ourselves in class (even if they can not understand most of what we say they may catch a familiar word or at least see us smiling at them). As I introduced myself briefly the other students were filling in the blanks. “I am Ms. Victor and my favorite color is-“

“Purple!” they chimed in.

“I love chocolate, but my favorite thing of all is -“

“BOOKS!” they shouted.

We went around the circle and I thought nothing more of the quick introduction until today.

R. was working with the EAL  teacher and I stopped by. They were practicing color names and after asking him a few I asked him what his favorite color was. He looked at me and made this sign:

 Screen Shot 2017-02-14 at 6.51.14 PM.png

and said, “Like you.”

“Purple?” I asked.

He smiled shyly and I was shocked- he had remembered our hand sign for agreeing and he remembered a comment I thought he may have not even understood from two weeks ago. These small connections- signs to me that he is taking in more than I know!

These kids never cease to amaze me!

5 thoughts on “To Know Me

  1. Kimberley

    This brought tears to my eyes. First, that your children know these things about you means you have a very real relationship with them and second that this child wants to be a part of this relationship badly enough to take a risk. Go you.

    Reply
  2. lindabaie

    I had the pleasure of helping an ESL student at the bookstore this past week. He was a teen, but needed some easy readers for practice. We found some and he was a happy reader! Love hearing your story. They do begin to understand more than they can usually say at first.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

