‘Twas the Day Before…

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

#sol17- February 28, 2017

This morning at Morning Meeting when I said “Tomorrow is March 1st,” they cheered. This group of third graders is, for the most part, very excited to start the Slice of Life Challenge that starts tomorrow. This year I have been especially persistent in talking up the challenge and some of these kiddos have been eager for months. I did a mental check as Morning Meeting continued (not very mindful of me, but true life).

For my class I have:

  • Hosted our first slicer lunch- we watched Zahira’s movie and created an idea list (see more here). I have not written an idea list myself… We will have a weekly lunch to talk writing.
  • Given out tiny notebooks and pens to those who say they are part of the challenge.
  • Prepped 31 blog posts, ready for each day (only for the class, I have not done it for my own blog- ugh!).
  • Printed a chart so that I can keep track of who posts which days (just for my own information, as the challenge is optional).

For a few colleagues who are joining (as a class and/or as individuals) I have shared links, answered questions, helped set up things.

As part of the “Welcome Wagon” I have bookmarked the blogs of my assigned “newbies”.

Tomorrow I am hoping that all these people feel supported, but that moment in Morning Meeting I felt my first wave of panic- I do not feel prepared myself. I am busily trying to make sure that others feel ready and able, but I have not made the time to do this myself. Realistically I know it will all work out, but I wish I done more to get ready. I tell myself that I will get through the first few days and then do some more preparation this weekend and maybe that will be enough to calm my nerves.

Tonight I think I will have the last day of vacation trouble sleeping (even though I am not coming off a vacation- I really mean that anticipation filled sort of sleep I do before a big day), as tomorrow it is March 1st!!!

Happy slicing!

5 thoughts on “‘Twas the Day Before…

  1. Amy Warntz

    You.got.this! I am inspired by those who are completing the classroom challenge. I’m glad you’re here. I look forward to seeing you and your student slicers over the month of March.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

