I Don’t Want to Write a Poem Today!

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

#sol17- Day 30/30- March 30, 2017

One of the things I struggle with in teaching is when kids “have to” do something. I LOVE the TC units of reading and writing and know they allow for lots of student choice, but somehow kids yearn for even more choice at times. I reconcile this in my own head by trying to have “Free Choice Friday” where students can have class time to read or write the genre of their choice.

Today was Thursday and D. said, “I don’t want to write a poem today, I just want to write a story.”

We talked briefly about what he saw as the differences and then I suddenly said, “It sounds like you have a beginning of a poem.” We had just finished a mini lesson focusing on rhythm and repetition, which had included some “back and forth”. I suggested he could start with “I don’t want to…, then go on to I just want to” and then see what came next. He liked this idea and then started brainstorming all the things he didn’t want to do, but what he’d rather do instead.

A few minutes into his drafting his friend came over to remind him that they had started a poem in two languages that they wanted to finish. They huddled together drafting in English, then Russian and Serbian.

When writing time was over and I called them to the carpet D. was the last one to come. “I just have three more words I want to write,” he said.

Sometimes getting started is the hardest part and for him, it was then hard to stop.

Tomorrow is Friday and there will be some time for Free Choice Friday. Who knows what he will write.

5 thoughts on “I Don’t Want to Write a Poem Today!

  1. Denise Krebs

    Ah, I have a feeling on Friday D. may want to make sure both of his poems are finished before moving on to that story he wants to write. What a great slice of your life, plus a helpful view into your classroom. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. vendija723

    I’d love to hear his poems now. I keep hearing about Teachers College and am getting more and more curious.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

