Three Years Later

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

#sol17- Day 31/31- March 31, 2017

As you know, today is the last day of the Slice of Life Challenge-whether it was your first year or your tenth, I am sure that you have grown as a writer this month. I did not think I would write a reflection for a last slice, but my slices have a way of just showing up on my computer screen (#pantser) , so here I am.

This I Believe (after a NPR podcast a friend just shared with me helped to change my format)

This year I only wrote one poem (or maybe not even one)- in past years I wrote more poetry. I did not vary my slices enough this year- I tend to write like a reporter-boring!

This year I did not make an idea list, but I saw that several people did and I saved them in case I ever needed an idea- turns out I never looked at them.

This year I was one of the welcome wagon commenters, as I was last year- I was lucky enough to have such a varied group to follow- several of whom blogged every day:)

It was great fun (and often very inspirational) to slice with my third graders and a few former students. Some of them are going to keep slicing.

It was great to have some colleagues try it with their classes for the first time.

I did not comment on as many slices as I read and I feel badly about that, as I know how important comments are.

I know from past experience that I will not feel like I suddenly have more free time tomorrow, just like I know that next March I will magically find time to squeeze the chaos in again.

There are a lot of amazing writers in our community- I know in the future I will read books and say, “I remember reading her/his slices.”

What starts out feeling like a chore, becomes a habit, and I have to try to maintain the momentum and write more regularly.

I will see you here next Tuesday.

8 thoughts on “Three Years Later

  1. Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski

    Reflective as always Erika! I’m a pantser too and never looked at idea lists. I feel like I lost some writing steam as the challenge ended and didn’t try out all the Craft Moves I hoped to. But both of us showed up and wrote about our lives each day. We did it!

    Reply
  2. sallydonnelly11

    We did it!!!! I love your honest reflection. And I will look for you on Tuesdays now until next March. So glad we find time to do this, as you say so well, to “magically find time to squeeze the chaos in again.”

    Reply
  3. lindabaie

    I liked the way you wrote. Each of us has our style, as you do, Erika. And I loved what you wrote about time, so true. It’s just as we imagine all that time when summer break arrives. See you on Tuesdays!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

