#cyberpd 2017

Screen Shot 2015-07-20 at 8.13.17 AM

Week 2- Chapters 5 and 6

Chapters 5 and 6
I am in the midst of a crazy busy summer like many of you (and fly back to Malaysia later tonight), so my reflections are based on pictures I took of my scribbles in the book because the book is packed in my suitcase already. I promise to comment on more posts!

I love the way Vinton starts with the chart listing if we believe this, then we must do… I also like the focus on empowering the students and helping them to see reading as pleasure. Work can and should be fun! Vocabulary is an area I struggle with- the majority (by a lot) of my students are English language learners. I loved the idea of having students underline all the words they already know in a passage to show what little is left to attack. The core practice discussions will help me to be even more intentional. I am always on the hunt for efficient ways to capture student thinking and am using audio and video more. I like thinking of reading as problem-based. The resources as examples of texts we could use are helpful- I would love some video clips too. I like how Vinton supports her ideas with “why this work matters” as it gives me a chance to agree or question-based on my own context. Lots to mull over for sure!

 
I am in the midst of a crazy busy summer like many of you (and fly back to Malaysia later tonight), so my reflections are based on pictures I took of my scribbles in the book because the book is packed in my suitcase already. I promise to comment on more posts!

I love the way Vinton starts with the chart listing if we believe this, then we must do… I also like the focus on empowering the students and helping them to see reading as pleasure. Work can and should be fun! Vocabulary is an area I struggle with- the majority (by a lot) of my students are English language learners. I loved the idea of having students underline all the words they already know in a passage to show what little is left to attack. The core practice discussions will help me to be even more intentional. I am always on the hunt for efficient ways to capture student thinking and am using audio and video more. I like thinking of reading as problem-based. The resources as examples of texts we could use is helpful- I would love some video clips too. I like how Vinton supports her ideas with “why this work matters” as it gives me a chance to agree or question based on my own context. Lots to mull over for sure!

Leave a Reply

