Lucky Traveler!

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

#sol17-September 19, 2017

Something I am trying to get used to is traveling alone. Nearly two years ago I sort of started. By sort of started, I mean that I joined a group traveling to Vietnam. I went back and forth with the company trying to choose my trip, as I did not want to be the only person not in a couple- not that I was looking for a match, but I do not want to always be the third wheel. I spent an absolutely fantastic 15 days traveling, using all sorts of transportation, met a great group of people, and gained courage.

Last year I spent a couple days In Luang Prabang, Laos sort of alone. I knew that a colleague and her husband would be there at the same time, so I figured I might run into them a bit, but we were in separate hotels, arrived on different dates, and so I knew that I would have plenty of alone time too. In the end, it was another successful trip!

Next month we have 5 days off and it was time for my next solo venture. I hemmed and hawed, trying to decide what my priorities should be. I decided that I am the kind of person who copes better in cities while alone because there is always something to do in a city and my aloneness might not be so visible. Just last week I finally booked my trip- a return trip to Hoi An, Vietnam. It was one of the stops on my trip two years ago, but definitely, a place I wanted to return to (small city, very scenic, delicious food, the chance to get clothes made for me, very walkable- all plusses for me). This time (as far as I know) I will not know anybody traveling there, nor will I have any “tour group” to travel with- really on my own, but I am fine with that.

My older son, currently living in Korea, has definitely inspired me in that he jumps at any chance to travel and is totally okay traveling on his own- if he can do it, then so can I! In fact just today I got word from him that I am meeting him in Nha Trang, Vietnam for three days over Christmas (as he only has 3 days off I let him choose where we would meet) and I am currently debating the rest of my break, which at this point looks like another solo adventure or two, as he only has that time off. I know I am so lucky to be able to travel like this and I am not going to let not having a travel companion keep me in place!

I would love to know if any readers have tips for solo travel. So far I feel like it is something I can do, but not yet something I love (although I do always love the freedom part of being on my own time).

 

 

*** Former third grade slicer, Zhi Hong (now a 4th grader still slicing).

 

2 thoughts on “Lucky Traveler!

  1. jarhartz

    I don’t have solid advice, really no experience of being totally alone on a trip, but if I were to do this, I’d suspect I’d want a new notebook! I love how we are inspired by our children.

    Reply
  2. sallydonnelly11

    Vietnam! Can’t wait to read your stories after your trip!! I enjoy the freedom to linger or leave early or stop and eat whenever when I travel alone. However, when I have to figure out how to read the map, I always feel better if another can assist me. There are pluses and minuses I guess to all the ways one travels!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

