Sharing the TC Love

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

#sol17- November 14, 2017

While I am a self=professed PD junkie and I love to share what I learn I shy away from sharing at more formal opportunities. When I lived in Germany I did present a few times at the Association for German International Schools Teacher Conference, but I warned all my friends and colleagues away. I have also presented at a few EdCamps and nErDcamps, but those felt okay. We have a tradition (off and on) at my current school of TTTs (Teachers Teaching Teachers sessions)- some years there are whole school versions and I even did that once (again, asking friends to stay away- one disobeyed). This year the elementary school has revived these sessions at the ES campus, and since it was partly at my insistence I felt like I should offer a workshop. Last summer a colleague and I both had the opportunity to attend the TC Advanced Writing Institute so we could share together. We signed up in September and were assigned the first spot- in November- comfortably far in the future.

Fast forward to last week and we were scrambling to find times to get together to plan this week’s share.  We met twice (complicated by me completely forgetting one meeting due to meeting overload) and decided on a “Top Ten Takeaway” format, with each of us responsible for five, as we had attended different sessions and teach different levels. When planning separately we found our ideas built on each other’s well and it seemed manageable- after all, it is report writing season and our colleagues would be grateful if we kept it short and sweet. The TTT sessions are optional, so we knew we would not have a huge crew there, but still, I maintain that presenting to colleagues is the most intimidating kind of pressure. I assumed Araceli was a confident presenter because she is so outgoing, but she admitted her apprehension as well.

In the end, we had had about 15 colleagues show up, including our principal and vice principal, ESL teachers, LR teachers, and classroom teachers from grades 1-5. We shared our takeaways, answered questions, and then breathed a sigh of relief- we had a very supportive audience (and we were done). As we spoke briefly afterward we both appreciated the experience- it had helped us remember what we had learned and spread some tips we wanted to share. It had also pushed us both outside of our areas of comfort, which is almost always a good thing (in fact Araceli says she wants to present again).

 

 

 

Zhi Hong (student from last year) keeps slicing and would love some comments!

2 thoughts on “Sharing the TC Love

Leave a Reply

