When the Reality Does Not Match Your Imagination

#sol24- Apr. 23, 2024

“I hear it’s like going to a bank, Mom, so, no, you do not need to dress up,” my son told me. “Coulsy’s parents are wearing business casual.”

That sounded good to me- I do not like dressing up and had nothing in my closet that felt dressy. This was in preparation for “the registry wedding”. Jason and Coulsy planned to get married twice- this April in Bangkok (where he lives) at a district office and the following April for the “real wedding” in the Philippines (where Coulsy is from).

Somehow even with this advice, I had a picture in my head. My son said I would be one of the two official witnesses, so I figured I would get to sign my name a few times as part of the ceremony. What I failed to understand is that there would be no ceremony. I was thrilled that I lived close enough that I would be one of the few at the first wedding. It would be me, her parents, her brother, her best friend, my very good friend (who lives in Bangkok), and her husband- a nice, small group. What I pictured was a small office with a few rows of chairs. I thought there would be some official who would do some sort of short ceremony, a translator (who they paid extra) to tell us what the official had said and then a “you may now kiss the bride moment.”

Instead, I arrived first to a big district office. I asked/mimed where the weddings took place and they pointed me to a nearby are with hearts on the walls outside a smaller room. “Okay, we will go in there when it is time, I thought.”

I messaged Jason to let him know I had arrived and he asked me to keep an eye out for Tan, the translator. Nobody “looked like a translator, so I decided Jason could handle that part.

A few Jason arrived. Out of the taxi came Coulsy, her parents, her brother, and her friend. Introductions were made all around (it was the first time I was meeting them). Then Jason phoned the translation office. Just then a man came up and introduced himself as Tan and we were on our way. Only we weren’t going anywhere, because it turns out we were not going to the smaller room. It took about an hour for all of the documents to be signed, for the translator to tell the couple what they were signing, for a certificate to be made, and then… it was over. They took a few pictures by the hearts and the translator insisted we then take some pictures outside by some fake birds.

We then headed to a van to take us to a celebratory lunch. All in all, it was a funny experience- not what I pictured as their first wedding, but they were happy and that is really all that mattered.

9 thoughts on “When the Reality Does Not Match Your Imagination

  1. First, congratulations!! So happy for your handsome son, Jason and his bride!! You’ve changed your identity and now are a mother to a daughter! So glad you were close to travel and be there. You capture the unexpected gathering as a class of what you are used to and what your son embraces. Different generation, for sure! Will you be able to attend wedding #2?

  2. Erika, I’m glad you got to be at wedding #1 and the formal wedding too. You look so nice in the photo. It’s fun to see you there with your very tall son and beautiful new daughter-in-law. What a special day, even if it didn’t match your imagination!

  3. Not what you expected but the photos tell a happy story. And the bride and groom look fantastic and so happy! I’m so glad you were there. And it strikes me that so many moments are like that- take the obligatory photo by the funny paper hearts, but the photo takes on such greater meaning over time. Best wishes to all!

  4. Erika,

    This is probably the most low key wedding I’ve ever heard about, and I love it. So much stress and anxiety and drama often goes into wedding planning, not to mention the expense. The pictures tell so much about Jason’s and Coulsy’s happiness. Thank you for sharing. I think this is a really good model of what a wedding should be, two people making a commitment to one another. Perfect.

  5. Congratulations to the happy couple! Thanks for sharing this both amusing and upbeat slice. It sounds like it was quite a contrast to what you had in mind. The pictures are a lovely bonus!

  6. The ceremony might have been paperwork only, but you can see and feel the love shining through in those pictures! What a great “small moment” to Slice about and have captured here.

Leave a comment