How Do You Measure Time?

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

#sol18- March 9, 2018

I grew up (mostly) outside of Boston and although we could sometimes experience all four seasons in a very short span of time (definitely within a day) I measured time in seasons. Spring was the crocuses and daffodils, plenty of slushy snow, and baseball. Summer was endless heat, green grass, long days, and endless possibilities. Autumn was brilliantly colored leaves, and apple picking. Winter was hiding inside, freeze your wet hair, and short days. Of course, I could expand these seasonal definitions adding in holidays and other memories.

Having lived in the tropics for the last four years I find my noticing of time passing is a bit blurrier, as I do not have my early anchors to tether me to a time of year. Sometimes I hesitate before I write the date on the board, because really, it could just as easily be December or August as March.

Yesterday I had a new way to mark time. I booked my ticket “home” from Kuala Lumpur to Boston. This time it is a one way ticket, as come July I will be moving on to Phnom Penh, Cambodia. This I knew (of course, as I had applied for the new job back in November), but what shocked me was as soon as I submitted payment for the flight a message popped up “this trip is in 100 days”. I was surprised- the end of the year is still far away in my mind and my flight is scheduled only 8 days after school ends. I still have so much to teach! I also have plenty of stuff to do on this end to prepare for my move. 100 days does not feel like lots of time. I have a friend here who has already started saying, “We do not have many more of these times together”, which reminds me over and over I am a short timer.

Now I know I have only 99 days here and I need to make them matter. I am the kind of person who wants to remain all in until the last minute, so I need to take advantage of all that I have here (friends, facilities, and more) to make memories before my time here runs out. I am glad I will not be moving too far away, but I know that I have to pack in all that I can while I am here, because reality might make visiting challenging. I guess it’s about time to break out an actual calendar so I can make the most of my days.

6 thoughts on “How Do You Measure Time?

  1. Seems like we are both measuring time in our posts today. I love your opening with the seasons – it really connected me and helped me experience the lack of seasons and therefore time for you. Enjoy every minute — you are adventurous.
    Clare

  2. I’m glad you wrote this as I’ve been mulling over a similar idea recently! Time seems to be speeding by much more quickly than I expected. And yes!! Still so much to teach and do!!! Hope your 99 remaining days are slow and memorable!

  3. Erika,
    I hope each of your 99 days is filled with both “want to’s” and “must do’s” so that you can accomplish all that you need to before your move. I can’t imagine not having the “seasons” as we do in Iowa but I can relate to some days do have them ALL in 24 hours! ❤

  4. As I read of your remaining 100 days, I recalled reading this quote by President Kennedy when visiting his library in Boston: “All this will not be finished in the first one hundred days. Nor will it be finished in the first one thousand days . . .nor even perhaps in our lifetime on this planet. But let us begin.” It hangs in my classroom as a reminder that lots needs to be done, so let’s begin. And you have the added pressure of a move. Even so, enjoy the next 99 days and finish what you can.

  5. 100 Days! I’m always shocked by how quickly the time passes. I feel as though I never have enough time with my classes (or with most things, really). Still, I envy you the excitement of the what’s-to-come even as I feel the shock of the nearly-done. Enjoy your time!

Leave a comment