Ish Is Sometimes Good Enough

#sol22- March 9

Just as we settled in to write T said, “I hope your Wednesday is or was wonderful.” This made sense because we four are in three different countries in four different timezones.

“Ish,” I called out.

Ish totally describes my day today- full of highs and some lows.

Yays:

Two students returned from isolation- yay- one had been out nearly four weeks and does not thrive in online school.

It is book week and we had a fun mystery reader (a parent who is a sub read a great book).

We went outside for a while to complete a QR code scavenger hunt also related to book week.

Enough students are interested in the weekly news segment that we introduced to them today that we will be able to make it work.

A meeting felt productive.

Ish:

A few students reached out with online learning questions- I am glad they asked, but they could have likely answered their own questions…

A disappointing email in regards to something I hoped to get involved with- ah, well.

Not everybody finished some of the work we need to be completed to go on to the next thing tomorrow (but those that did not were absent at the start, so it makes sense).

In looking over this list, I can see there were more yays, than ishes, so that makes it a net positive day. Sometimes a reflective list gives me back my sense of balance.

9 thoughts on “Ish Is Sometimes Good Enough

  1. As I read along, I also noticed that what was started as ish sounded positive. Sometimes a chance to stop and reflect is all it takes to see the big picture. Have a lovely ish rest of your week. And maybe on Saturday, you’ll reflect back to all the positives because they ARE there!

  2. I love using ‘ish’ and always start the school year with Peter Reynolds books.
    I have never thought about reflecting upon my day using ‘ish’

  3. I think that ISH is one of my most favorite uses of language. More yays than ishes? Yep. Check that day right off of the list. (We also had a Celebrity Guest Reader in class today!)

  4. It is so important to take a reflective stance … in coaching, they called this, “getting on the balcony.” It helps you keep things in perspective, see some things from a different point of view, and notice some things you may have missed. Glad it was a net positive!

Leave a comment