And Then There Were Two…

#sol22- 17 March

Two years ago when we first went online we had no idea we would stay online for the rest of the school year. We started the next year online, but eventually went back in person, only to go back and forth online, finally remaining online after February 23. line again. This year we AGAIN started online, finally in person again in late October this year. Some families have been super cautious throughout and have kept their children online for much longer. Four of those families have students in my class. In January one returned.

Today M returned and I only found out for sure yesterday (after a change of plan a few weeks ago, I was afraid to get my hopes up too high). Yesterday two students happily volunteered to be his buddy and help him navigate the first few days- after all, he has only been on campus for a few weeks in the last two years (he joined for a short time last year just before we went online again).

I looked for him on the playground at line up time, but did not see him. As the students wandered in after putting away their backpacks, one came running in, “He’s here! I saw M.!” Students were eager to let him know all kinds of things that had changed at school since he was last here, things he should know about our classroom, and teach him how to use his school laptop. It really was a great community outreach program as everyone pitched in and I think M started to feel comfortable as the day went on (it helps that I was his grade 3 teacher too and he admitted he did not feel stressed, as he knew me already). It was great to see all the kids ready to help, while at the same time setting him up for future success by teaching, not just telling him what to do.

At one point today, I called over to M, “I love you!”

“I know already.”

I felt really lucky (again) to learn with this group and grateful to welcome one more back on campus. I know he will sleep well tonight, as it was a busy day and more activity than he has had in a long time. I know I will sleep well as well- he has begun the resettling process well and the busy-ness of the first day is now in the past. Now, if only the last two students would come back…

2 thoughts on “And Then There Were Two…

  1. Beautiful slice with so many details that tell us so much about the community in your classroom.
    “Students were eager to let him know all kinds of things that had changed at school since he was last here, things he should know about our classroom, and teach him how to use his school laptop.”
    and the “teaching, not just telling”
    BRAVO!

Leave a comment