OLW- The Big Reveal and the Why

#sol23- 3 Jan. 2023

I have chosen a OLW since 2013 (see this post for a review). For many of those years I have also had my students choose one, but the last few years I have adapted that for them- having them choose a OLW at the start of the year and then in January they decide to keep or change their word for the new calendar year.

Every year I keep a running list of possible words throughout the year. The note book I am currently writing in has only been in service since October 13, so lots of my ideas are in the three previous notebooks for this year, shelved at home. Last week I realized I would still be away from home when January 1 came and those lists would be inaccessible to me- I might have become a little anxious… What if “my” word was on a list and I missed my chance for the best word for 2023- breathe almost became my word by default.

I had zest and a few other words on my current list and I was leaning that way. Then I took a few minutes to brainstorm the other day and capacious came to me. I have loved the word since I first encountered it in Kate DiCamillo’s Flora and Ulysses. It was reinforced in her Newbery acceptance speech and again in her interview with Krista Tippett for On Being.

DiCamillo credits William Maxwell’s short story, The Thistles in Sweden, for introducing her to the word capacious. She defines it as “open, more capable of seeing and receiving the wonders of this world.” She says that reading can make us more capacious. In her acceptance speech she says “We have been given the sacred task of making Hearst large through story. We are working to make hearts that are capable of containing much joy and much sorrow, hearts capacious enough to contain the complexities and mysteries of…ourselves and each other.”

dictionary.com defines capacious as capable of holding much; spacious or roomy

In 2023 I will turn 60. I want to be more capacious and inspire it in others. It will help me as an individual, family member, friend, learner, and teacher. I think as I age I could have the tendency to use the age card and assume I know it all- I want capacious to remind me to remain open- there is always more to learn. These last few years have been a challenge to us all and for me, it has meant that I have relied on myself more than ever. I want to be capacious toward others.

I look forward to the year of living capaciously and have started a 60 for 60 bucket list of things I would like to do in my 60th year, both big and small (and would love suggestions, as so far I only have eight ideas, ha!).

I look forward to reading about other people’s OLW choices and next week learning whether the fifth graders will keep or change their OLWs.

8 thoughts on “OLW- The Big Reveal and the Why

  1. What a perfect word! You did a wonderful job of describing your ‘why’ and I loved following your links and learning more about the power of ‘capacious’. Something that makes a OLW a good choice is that even if you already have it in you (like you do in this case!) it is something that can never stop growing and contributing to life. I hope that seeing old friends like me gets to be one of the 60 things that you do in your 60th year!

  2. Wow – what a word! I loved reading the story of how you came to the word. Two suggestions (off the bucket list): write “60 things I am proud of” and “60 things that make me happy” (including little things too). I did the lists for my 50th birthday and both made me feel fabulous. For the bucket list I suggest a photo shoot with a professional photographer and a wild dance lesson, breakfast in a cafe with a cake and a weekend to binge watch “Wednesday” on Netflix (if you haven’t done so yet). Happy New year!

  3. Great word “capacious” and all it leaves room for. The interview with Krista Tippett and Cate DiCamillo is one to listen to repeatedly. I love it. The 60th birthday is a big one—I might even have a slice in me about that one. I am sure you will find many stories as this year unfolds, what with all the roominess in your being! Happy New Year!

  4. Just rolling back through (I missed this week due to covid)…I love this word!! I love the story behind it, how you chose it (I am a huge Tippet fan!) and how you envision the possibilities. Happy New Year (a bit late!)

Leave a comment