Action for Happiness

#sol23- 18 Mar. 2023

My love for lists is well documented and just after waking up waaaaaay too early this morning I made my weekend to do list, then glanced at my Action for Happiness calendar before making my “overnight oatmeal” (on the weekend I make them when I wake up and let them sit until 9ish when I eat).

“Have a ‘no plans’ day and notice how that feels.”

What?! Saturdays are my get stuff done day and I already had a checklist of items (as noted in my slice yesterday)… I love the idea, I am super tired…

So, I am creating a compromise day- I am doing some things that were not on my list- I remembered that the Netflix version of Kate DiCamillo’s The Magician’s Elephant, was released yesterday, so I watched that. I decided that booking my massage for tomorrow and ordering groceries to be delivered later today don’t really count as making plans… Mopping was on my plan, but with Friends in the background and still playing it did not feel so tedious, so that’s okay, right?

Looking at the TCRWP agenda for tonight and making my plan… that sounds kind of planny, but it only happens twice a year and I have been looking forward to it, so I feel okay with checking that off of my to do list.

It is 11:37 am and this no plan day already is feeling like a challenge I will likely not achieve. If I were to put every plan on my to do list off until tomorrow Sunday would be very busy…

Maybe my compromise will be an hour of no plan alternating with some plan time… It’s all about progress, not perfection. I can have a full on no plan day another day (that I ironically, will have to plan for).

12 thoughts on “Action for Happiness

  1. All changes start with small steps. So now you had a bit of no-plan time. Keep practicing. Maybe in a few months (or years) you’ll be able to enjoy a day with no plans at all. It is possible.

  2. I am a list-lover myself, taking great satisfaction in crossing things off. Yet I appreciate this idea of a no-plan day – it sounds like a luxury. And I’m captivated by this calendar!

  3. I’m glad we both planned on attending TCRWP Reunion Sat! It was the inspiration I needed! THnaks for adding the photo of your calendar. It’s new to me…may need to look into it!

  4. I like to think that I have lots of no plans days, but that really isn’t true. I have a long list created before my feet hit the floor each morning and usually sit at my desk creating the list to illuminate that first thing. Summer is for more no plans days, but even then I seem to make plans.

  5. I love both the irony and the honesty of this slice! 😊 I think you should applaud yourself for giving the idea a try, but balancing whether it would actually make you happier for the day or not and compromising.

  6. I have many days where the plans are laid out, but the energy level of my body doesn’t match the mind and the list so I end up having a no plans day. So I love that your calendar/brain said to have a no plans day but your body/mind didn’t match that same level. I’m glad that you compromised and got some of the stuff that didn’t feel too stressful knocked off your list which will allow your Sunday to not be so stressful.

Leave a comment