Five Star Treatment!

#sol24- Mar. 9, 2024

Our school is hosting ELLSA this weekend. When it was first announced last year I went to one of my friends to volunteer however I could help. Last week we got our “assignments”; I was to help out at a hotel directing people to the bus that would drive us to school and help lead a tour of our school campus at lunch. One of the organizers also asked me to be sure to help take pictures of the student dancers and hold her laptop safely so that one of the keynote speakers who was unfortunately injured and could not travel could see the action on the stage as we Zoomed her in.

The day was pretty amazing. Things were very well organized and as one of the organizers noted they were trying to “give 5-star treatment to 5-star educators.” The setup was extra- so beautifully decorated. The snacks were amazing- pastries from a delicious Japanese bakery and Cambodian treats, along with fresh-cut fruit. A cafe was on site to serve custom-made coffee. Students and staff collaborated to entertain us with music and dance performances. All this was in addition to a full day of learning. The keynotes were on point and the range of topics covered in the sessions was varied so that everyone found something.

Tonight… there was an evening event. I did not know what to expect- it was at a sky bar I had never heard of. As my visiting friend, Gina and I checked out the menu on the schedule it looked like it had potential. We arrived at the site- headed up to the 25th floor and then walked up to the final rooftop destination. The food and drinks were plentiful and the views- wow! Phnom Penh is usually so overwhelmingly hot, but up there it was breezy and pleasant. It was a great opportunity to chat with people I knew and people I was meeting for the first time. It really did feel like five-star treatment- and tomorrow is another day of learning!

7 thoughts on “Five Star Treatment!

  1. That sounds like a fantastic experience, and with learning happening, too. You definitely have different experiences than what I had at my school before I retired. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Erika, how nice that they gave the “5-star treatment to 5-star educators.” It sounds fabulous, and you are worthy of being spoiled. Hope your second day is equally worthwhile.

  3. Wow! What an experience, and you get another boost today. I love the description of the event and the details you provide. We are having a conference next October, and you’ve energized me to find a local coffee shop to show up and provide coffee. What a terrific idea! (Teachers love their coffee, and last year the brewer broke down. Yikes.) I also visited the ELLSA website to investigate further—after figuring out what the acronym represents. Love this post.

  4. Fabulous treatment, and I love that your school is a place that celebrates its teachers, students, and community. Feeling valued is one of the best feelings to instill in others, and I see that here.

  5. Gotta love a thoughtfully organized gathering of educators! We learn best when we feel respected, cared for and appreciated. This sounds like the organizers hit all the high notes. And the success is certainly deeply dependent on colleagues who show up to help make that 5-star treatment a reality.

  6. You have me drooling at the pastries and coffees and also at the view! Its time educators were given great treatment. I went to Japan once with a large group of US teachers and we were totally given the 5 star treatment. it changed the way I regarded myself- I felt much more of a professional from then on.

Leave a comment