Oops!

#sol24- Mar.11, 2024

Apartments in Phnom Penh seem to come two ways- either your washing machine is on your balcony or it is in your kitchen. My first apartment here had it on the balcony, which seemed preferable until I realized that the high-pitched noises I heard every night were bats that liked to hang out on my balcony and poop all over my washing machine- yuck and eek! I solved that problem by putting netting up to isolate my balcony, but…

My current apartment has the washing machine in the kitchen- an idea I now prefer, even though it is right out in the open next to the refrigerator, but whatever, it makes doing laundry easy! It is a top loader, so I leave the top open so it all dries out (the humidity is so high here).

Last night after a long weekend of PD I threw a load in to wash. An hour later as I returned to hang the laundry to dry I got to the last few things and what did I see?

The poor gecko was quite dead and missing a tail. I do not know if that happened before or during its washing machine adventure, but I felt bad. I love geckos. I will have to remember to look in the machine before adding the dirty clothes.

6 thoughts on “Oops!

  1. Such a sad glimpse into the challenge of doing laundry! I will not complain about heading into the basement to do laundry after reading your challenges!

Leave a comment