Must Haves in a New Place?

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

#sol18 March 4, 2018, Day 4 of 31

I am moving schools this summer and that means moving house (I am living in Kuala Lumpur and moving to Phnom Penh). In my last move, I purged big time so that most of what will move with me is books for my classroom and professional books- very little else. I have lived for years in places where I have done almost no decorating, but in my next apartment, I think I am finally ready to put in a little more effort to make it feel homey.

On my new school’s site for new teachers, there is a section advising us about housing options. There are descriptions of where people live, what you can expect to pay, possible realtors, and much more. The most helpful tidbit for me was left by a teacher who recommended making a chart, including: Column A- your non-negotiables (4-5 max) Column B-what you would really like your apartment to include (can be 7-8 items) Column C- what you would love to have, but can live without.

This has me thinking about what my non-negotiables are. Before moving into my current apartment I never considered that a kitchen might not have hot water. It never occurred to me to ask (turns out that it is rare here to have hot water in the kitchen). I did notice that many apartments did not have an oven, but chose one that did. Will that be the case in the new city too? I like to think that I have simple tastes, but living in the tropics air conditioning definitely is in my Column A, but what else should be? Then there is Column B and C… I know I am lucky to have options, but this will definitely take me some time to complete. Luckily I have been told that there are lots of choices there, but this may be a case of choice overload. What should make my list? What might I be forgetting? Until I make the move in July it is great fodder for distraction!

9 thoughts on “Must Haves in a New Place?

  1. Having spent the better part of the last 8 years in Asia, I can tell you what would be in my columns!
    A- AC (like you said) in all rooms, hot water and good water pressure in the shower, natural light, close to work, washing machine
    B- firm but not rock hard mattress (usually the case in Asia), conveniences nearby (grocery, restaurants, transport, etc), security for the apartment, appliances included, balcony/outdoor space
    C- internet included, oven (toaster ovens work well too so not a biggie)

  2. I’m all packed:
    books and
    clothes, and
    memories and
    worries, and
    hope, too:
    always hope.
    What might
    I be forgetting?

    I’m leaving
    breadcrumbs
    of myself
    behind, stories
    that might yet
    yield to the future.

    Whose bits
    of the past
    will I discover
    in the rooms
    ahead of me?

    Where do stories
    intersect?

    — I’m line-lifting a bit to make poems as comments on posts. Forgive the intrusion.
    🙂
    Kevin
    http://dogtrax.edublogs.org

  3. I am a person who has barely ever left the US so I’m probably not the best to ask. I can’t imagine there is no hot water?! I hope the place you find has everything you need, want, and dream of and hope it feels like home.

  4. Erika,
    So A has to include some bookshelves of some sort. For me, also internet and close to reliable transportation to the school where you will work. So many other trade offs. I could live without hot water in the kitchen since I could produce it on a cook top as long as I had hot water in the shower. I can’t imagine not seeing trees and grass – I’m so country rural . . . but I might be able to put those on my wall and create my own little world inside. You are right. So much to think about!

  5. Erika,
    Congratulations on your new move. I can’t wait to hear more about the change you are undertaking. We have lived in our house for over twenty years, and I can’t begin to imagine packing up. We do joke that we should “pretend we are moving” just to get everything cleaned out. Once the twenty-somethings find their places, I think a good clean out will be in order. I do sometimes wish I lived closer to things but, at the same time, there is something nice about the quiet of the country. I’m not sure what my column A list would like. You have me pondering….
    Cathy

Leave a comment