Noticing Similarities and Differences- Dollar Street

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

#sol18- March 18, 2018 Day 18 of 31

This morning scanning Facebook I saw a friend had posted a TedTalk advertised to “See how the rest of the world lives, organized by income”. It was a fascinating 12 minutes, where a Swedish woman has a photographic database of more than 264 homes in 50+ countries organized in many different ways. Her main points were that we need perspective when comparing and that the power of data visualization helps us better understand the world. Of course “seeing” data makes it feel more real and it was interesting to see what was compared and how that impacted my thinking. She ends up by saying that the differences we imagine can be challenged and be both a “call to action and a reason to hope”.

Now I am thinking about how this visual data (and other visual data) can be used in our third grade classroom. Sometimes seeing is believing.

9 thoughts on “Noticing Similarities and Differences- Dollar Street

  1. Oooh, this is interesting! We do a unit on data. I’d love to know how you use this with your students. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I just sent this to my 7th grade son. He’s been so “socio-culturally” curious and is a visual learner. I think he is going to really appreciate this talk. Thank you for sharing!

  3. This is a great idea. We are currently talking about the amount of added sugar in various types of chocolate milk in my 5th grade classroom. They see the numbers on the nutrition label but don’t really see it. I think I need to measure the amount of added sugar out and put them in baggies so they really can “see” it.

  4. That was such an informative video. Wow, I am so glad I saw it. I will share with many. Expanding our worldview can be so difficult and yet this tool will be so helpful.

  5. Ooh – I, too, have been thinking about how to use visual data in the (high school English) classroom. I’d love to hear about any ideas you come up with. So far, we’ve mostly used it as a writing prompt, but I just know we can do more… Thanks for the link to the TED talk, too.

Leave a comment