When?

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

#sol18- March 20, 2018 Day 20 of 31

I have found myself feeling frustrated recently about change (and/or lack of change) and rather than just grumble I am trying to inform myself. I have read several books by Dan Pink and always find him interesting, so when I saw When-The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing talked about recently on Twitter (by several people including my future principal) it seemed like a good book to add to my (endless) to be read pile. Listening to his January interview on NPR convinced me to move it up my pile. Maybe I can help myself make change more effectively.

Then a friend mentioned Immunity to Change: How to Overcome It and Unlock Potential in Yourself and Your Organization. Hmm, this makes me wonder more about whether I am as receptive to change as I would like to think that I am.

I am definitely planning on reading When sooner and I get the feeling that it will be the kind of book that I will want to talk about with other people who have read it. This is when I really need a book club or at least a few people who will talk books with me. My Nerdy Friends Voxer group sometimes has side Voxer groups for books people really want to discuss. Every summer I also participate in #cyberpd (a fab online book study organized by Cathy Mere and Michelle Nero)- maybe there is an online way I could gather a group… when?

 

3 thoughts on “When?

  1. You are wise and brave to ask yourself these questions. Thank you for sharing your process with us. I am interested in the two books you mentioned – thanks also for that! Online gatherings… in person gatherings… I think as long as you feel connected and heard, then it all can count as a successful book club!

Leave a comment