Noticing Love and Light As We Move Beyond “The Honeymoon Period”

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

#sol18- October 9, 2018

We have officially finished the first term at school, sometimes referred to as the honeymoon period. I am at a new school and I have made a conscious effort to be present with my eyes wide open, but to be sure to focus on the good. I am making it a point to notice love and light. Yesterday, as I sat down to write my list of positives the ideas flowed easily. Sure, transitions are challenging, but they are also exciting, so I am focusing on that. Here’s the thing- my attitude has definitely positively affected my experience (as well as the way new colleagues perceive me- people have commented on how smiley I am).

Here are a few things I have appreciated about the start of this school year:

  • My class- we have spent LOTS of time building community and it is paying off- they are really showing growth. We have spent time on collaborative projects in the days before break started and the energy and enthusiasm that the students approached each other and the work was impressive.
  • My teammates- they have been super kind about answering my seemingly endless questions and have enthusiastically tried out new ideas I have shared. I include in here our TA (the school is clear about the TA being a teaching assistant NOT a teacher’s assistant and our class is lucky to have a full-time TA who is fab!
  • Learning from colleagues- from our school’s version of Pineapple charts to Teachers Teaching Teachers scheduled for four times this year (this first time it was kind of like speed dating with each session only five minutes) to informal discussions on the go, there are a lot of people to learn from here!
  • Choice- one of the first things I noticed about recess at school is how much freedom the students get- they can eat wherever they play at morning break and have soooo many places to play. I also love that K-5 kids mingle, as they have the same recess and lunchtime.

Now after nine weeks of teaching and learning, I am doing my best to soak up love and light  (of different kinds) while on holiday too- here are a few pictures from the last few days in Hoi An, Vietnam (lots of wedding pictures being taken and Hoi An is famous for their lanterns).

IMG_0619.JPGIMG_0674.JPGIMG_0679.JPGIMG_0714.JPGIMG_0729.JPGIMG_0717.JPGIMG_0708.JPGIMG_0706.JPGIMG_0702.JPGIMG_0683.JPGIMG_0678.JPGIMG_0677.JPGIMG_0671.JPGIMG_0668.JPGIMG_0665.JPGIMG_0659.JPGIMG_0658.JPGIMG_0655.JPGIMG_0657.JPGIMG_0651.JPGIMG_0643.JPGIMG_0620.JPGIMG_0618.JPGIMG_0617.JPGIMG_0616.JPG

 

 

A slice from a former student.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Noticing Love and Light As We Move Beyond “The Honeymoon Period”

  1. Love the pineapple chart idea! So so so miss you here this year, but I guess the flip side is they know how lucky they are at ISPP. Keep sharing and enjoying Hoi An!

Leave a comment