Grocery Shopping As a Teacher

EC9C5FC0-447F-4D90-B062-D0932842E357

#sol19- March 11, 2019

Today as I hit the grocery store I wondered who was spying on me. Do you look at other people’s grocery carts? I do! Today I hoped nobody was as nosy as me, because I wondered what they would have thought,

Here is what I bought:

  • 2 big containers of ground cinnamon
  • 2 bags of ground coffee
  • cornmeal
  • 2 packages of paper muffin cups
  • 4 apples (two different types)
  • a bag of baby potatoes
  • a very long zucchini
  • 2 small eggplants
  • toothpicks

(all for science this week- we are starting our genetics/heredity unit with plants Mystery Science is an awesome resource- if you teach elementary science and have not checked it out, do! We will be looking at how pollen spreads-coffee, cornmeal, and cinnamon will stand in; testing out taste buds, hence all the varieties of apples: and determining whether a fruit/vegetable is a science fruit or vegetable based on seeds)

I also bought:

  • a bunch of bananas
  • three kinds of electro-light drinks (a friend is sick and I asked what I could buy her)

and:

  • another bunch of bananas (greenish)
  • bandaids
  • antiseptic cream (I have a bad cut that is not healing and need bananas for later in the week)

If I had been observing me I would have made up all kinds of stories in my head trying to figure out what that crazy lady (me!) was doing with such a strange assortment of groceries. Now, what would they say when they saw the cucumber, other varieties of apples, and pineapple I add to my first bag to take to school tomorrow?! I probably would have guessed teacher, but would others? The things we do for school!

 

7 thoughts on “Grocery Shopping As a Teacher

  1. I often look at my own shopping and wonder what people think of me? I have judged others – definitely guilty of it – but so interesting to create who someone is and their lifestyle based on their grocery shopping!

  2. I try not to cart-spy, as I feel protective of my own cart and contents! But you’re right – wouldn’t this breed interesting stories in others’ minds? I heard of a show where people were sent into Walmart to buy rope, pantyhose, duct tape, and an ax or saw … just to get the reactions of cashiers (yikes!).

  3. I always look at what other people are buying! We have so much processed foods in the grocery store. People are deceived by the packaging. I wonder if they even look at the ingredients??

Leave a comment