#SoL20- Day 30- I Choose Joy

screen-shot-2019-08-24-at-7.15.42-am

#sol20- March 30, 2020

Today I choose joy- joy in the form of a bar of soap! A simple bar of “kitchen soap” that has been sitting on my shelf for maybe two months unopened.

When I saw Bumblebee Cambodia Soap advertising dishwashing bar soap I was intrigued. Would it be s good as what was usually found in a plastic bottle? I am all for supporting local businesses and more sustainability, so I decided to order two bars to give it a shot. But still, they sat- I still had my plastic bottle after all.

Finally, yesterday I could squeeze no more from that old plastic bottle and not having another bottle in reserve I had to make the change, so…

I was surprised right away while washing my breakfast dishes. It got my sponge all sudsy. It felt good in and on my hands. It smelled good-not overly scented but clean. I’m sold-this little bar of soap brought me joy today (and that is a good thing, so I do not need to write about my tired eyes, burned soup, or a disappointing meeting decision).

Today, I choose joy in small things.

IMG_6042

3 thoughts on “#SoL20- Day 30- I Choose Joy

  1. It is the little things that give us the most joy, I think! I’m intrigued by this dishwashing bar soap. I have never heard of such a thing. I may need to see if anyone around here makes one and give it a try!

  2. I like how you mention the not-joyful moments in passing, and let them pass. I like that that you wrote about a bar of soap that brought you joy. And a bit of advertising, perhaps, for a company making something new and not in plastic! Like Amanda, I will keep my eyes open for this new kind of dishwashing soap.

Leave a comment