#kidscanteachus on Zoom

#sol21- June 8, 2021

BC (before Corona) I always opened up an afternoon or two (or more) to third graders having the chance to teach whatever they wanted to a small group. We would build the schedule together, where “teachers” decided how big a group they would manage, bring in any necessary supplies, and then have a time to teach.

Last week when we were planning the activities that we wanted to make sure we got to in our class I mentioned this as an option. After some jumping in then out and others waiting until the last day to decide to join we ended up having only three volunteer teachers this year. A taught how to make a fidget, L taught how to draw anime, and T taught tech tips. Their students joined them in a breakout room and for ten minutes or so they all were learning new things.

In the debrief afterward the teachers shared:

“It was hard because they couldn’t always see what I meant.”

“They did not always understand me well.”

“I had to say it again and again.”

The learners shared:

“I did not have everything I needed.”

“It was hard to see.”

“I did not know it would be so fun and I would learn so much.”

Now with only three days left I am wishing we had more chances to learn from each other. Such an awesome group- always wearing the hats of learner and teacher!

7 thoughts on “#kidscanteachus on Zoom

  1. I always enjoyed “ed camp” style events with students. I never thought of making them less of an event and more a regular part of our schedule. Interesting to hear the challenges in our current COVID situation. Wishing you all the best in your last days with this group, and a restful break ahead.

  2. When I was in elementary school, we had a time for “extracurricular activities” and we got to choose from an array that teachers offered – I chose sign language with a teacher whose daughter was born deaf. There’s so much we can learn from one another, from sharing our own interests and loves – not to mention our stories. Scenarios like you’ve described here can making learning come alive for students – even for teachers! Although there are inherent challenges, this collaborative spirit is pure gold.

  3. Erika, such a beautiful suggestion and learning experience for the students, third grade teachers and their students. This warmed my heart: “I did not know it would be so fun and I would learn so much.” Maybe next year you will do it more often!

    Sadly, we are starting our last week of school soon, or I would be sharing this with the teachers at my school. It would have been a really fun way to end the school year. However, I’m still going to share the link with them. Maybe they can consider it in the future.

  4. This is such a great idea. The students really know how to hone in on what’s working and what’s not. Their feedback is valuable for future online teaching/learning. Wonderful way to end the year.

  5. I love this idea! Kids love to feel they can contribute. What a wonderfully authentic way for them to contribute to their classroom while helping others get to know them better. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment