It Started With a Cryptic Message

#sol22- 5 March

“Erika, are you home today or tomorrow? I need to pop by with something….” P messaged me yesterday.

“I will be in and out, but you can always leave something labeled in the lobby,” I answered.

P. is a friend and colleague and has been known to drop off lovely surprises in the past.

“Oh, I will. Probably tomorrow morning.”

I then promptly forgot about it until this afternoon. My phone alert read:

“I’m leaving something for you in the lobby in 5 mins.”

Then the ding of my phone announced:

Sweet P. had canceled our breakfast plans last week because her son was sick, so today she left me the beautiful flowers, a thoughtful card (with the promise of a rain check), and nothing from Starbucks0 instead it is a beautiful mug from a local artist:

Gifts from her and the breakfast canceled and to be host. I tell you, I can get used to my birthday stretching out like this! What wonderful friends I am lucky to have!

11 thoughts on “It Started With a Cryptic Message

  1. I love that your friend’s beautiful gesture gets to be shared! So many kindnesses get buried and they should always have a way of being brought into the light!

  2. I love having birthdays that stretch out, on and on. That mug is lovely! Enjoy the continued celebrations.

  3. Erika, how weird – I, too, posted today about a gift I received for my belated birthday!! LOL. Best wishes to you, happy belated. What a thoughtful and beautiful present! (Further coincidence: mine IS Starbucks!)

Leave a comment