Travel with Family- Always an Adventure!

#sol22- Nov. 29, 2022

I keep telling myself that traveling with family is a gift (although at the moment I am thinking about gifts that keep on giving…).

My son moved to Bangkok this summer and he and my mother LOVE traveling together (truthfully they both love traveling, so for them traveling together is like a bonus), so it was easy for him to convince her to visit him during his long break in December. Both my mom and son are challenging planners (meaning they are not bound by time, so pinning them down to details, like what country and when is not easy! My mother is coming from the US and I live in Cambodia, so I was “welcome to join them.”

Finally, on October 30, she confirmed her travel dates (why she is arriving 9 days after our breaks start and leaving 9 days after they end remains a mystery). November 18th I inquired about their plans. My mom’s response: “He had 2 islands – choose one…..one is in Cambodia and the other is Thai Malaysian……both interesting….”

In the meantime, I pinned my son down to where he and I would travel first. He was going to the Philippines for the first week of his break and then had three days before my mom was to arrive, so I sorted a beachy area near Bangkok.

Finally, last Wednesday they were ready for the big reveal…

“Where in Laos?” I asked.

“We’re not sure yet,” my son answered.

Tonight after I shared the hotel. details for our beach time before my mom comes and got his ETD so I could book a car I asked about travel to Koh Lipe. Were we each booking our own or was he sorting that?

His response was, “Up to you.”

So I guess there are still lots of details up in the air. It is complicated to travel with those two, but I am sure we will have even more adventures once we meet up… My other son is probably laughing himself silly- he will stay at home and hear the stories after. Maybe before son #1 and I meet up I will know more?

5 thoughts on “Travel with Family- Always an Adventure!

  1. Oh my gosh…the indecisiveness would have me a nervous wreck! I’m sure everything will fall into place and you will have a wonderful time with your son and mother. 🙂 Safe travels and happy journaling along the way.

  2. Quite an amazing story of three generations of very adventurous people! Not everyone can relate to this level of international travel, but EVERYONE can relate to dealing with family members whose plans remain vague!

  3. My husband and I are traveling around New Mexico now and I have enjoyed it just being the 2 of us. Add a third and it can get tricky. But no matter the number, traveling and a change of scenery is the best! So I know you will enjoy that part of our trip!!

Leave a comment