Fifth Graders Are So Funny!

#sol23- Mar. 22, 2023

Teaching elementary school means there is rarely a dull moment.

This morning in the daily bulletin there was this picture:

With this message:

Our mascot is the falcon- I had no idea we were going to have this knitted version coming out, but there you have it- often I know things at the same time as I share them with the students. Of course, they had ideas! So far our class has collected about 10 ideas. When I reminded them that Khmer names are especially being solicited we ran into trouble.

“How would I write that?” I asked as J. gave a suggestion.

“Can I just write it?” she asked.

“I mean how would we write that using the letters we use in English?” I persisted.

“Why would we call a falcon that?” another student asked, “It means dog in Khmer!”

“Well the last idea means cat, so why not dog?”

I paused the conversation at this point. “We’ll add our suggestions tomorrow. You can all think more overnight,” I said hopefully.

NB They did have many viable ideas- I wrote them all down, so we can revisit them tomorrow before submitting.

One thought on “Fifth Graders Are So Funny!

Leave a comment