Last Slicer Lunch

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

#sol17- Day 29/31- March 29, 2017

Our elementary campus runs on a 6-day rotating schedule (although we only have 5 days of school a week), so when I decided to do a weekly lunch with my third grade slicers I went for “Day 2” rather that a day of the week, so I would not have to reschedule when I have duty.  Today was our last slicer lunch. The thrill of slicer lunch is that they bring their lunch to the classroom and we talk writing. We have had as many as all students there to a low of 12/19 of the students attend. Today we reflected on the challenge and contributed to the class slicing share that Kathleen Sokolowski is putting together. They wanted to know if they could keep slicing, and I answered, “Of course!”

Today we reflected on the challenge and contributed to the class slicing share that Kathleen Sokolowski is putting together. They wanted to know if they could keep slicing, and I answered, “Of course!”

I showed them a few former students who still slice occasionally and are nearing their 100th slice. They know that I slice on Tuesdays throughout the year and asked if they could too. “Of course you can, but there is no special link up page, ” I answered. One quick thinking student suggested, “When you post your blog you could add a link to ours.”

One quick thinking student suggested, “When you post your blog you could add a link to ours.” I agreed that I would if they remind me. They also remarked that they could send their blog out to everyone they know. These kids have developed a taste for writing knowing that they have a real audience. It is funny because not as many kids have blogged as regularly as I would have guessed, but still, they like sharing their voice and what more could I ask for? I love our writing community.

*** Here is the link to our SOL blog.

6 thoughts on “Last Slicer Lunch

  1. I keep getting more ideas from you, Erika! Thanks. I love have the slicer lunch. I’m pleased with what my students have accomplished this month too. We went from no blogging to scores of posts. We have five students who have earned their own blog by making 8 successful posts.

    The memory of Day 2 is a good one for me. I loved when I had a six-day schedule in both Iowa and Arizona. It was great that the children’s special classes never had to be canceled because of Monday holiday, for instance. I have been known to suggest over my years in my other schools for various scheduling issues. It doesn’t always work with part time staff, though.

    Thanks,
    Denise

Leave a comment