Birthday Love!

EC9C5FC0-447F-4D90-B062-D0932842E357

#sol19- February 26, 2019

I never make a big deal of my birthday and that is fine with me. I usually do make carrot cupcakes for my class and colleagues, but after much looking for my favorite recipe, I fear it may have been lost in the move. I have used that recipe for 25 years and have yet to taste a yummier carrot cake, so was unwilling to substitute. Sunday when I was at a favorite cafe and walked away with a delicious gingerbread cookie I had the idea that I could order cookies rather than bake-great plan!

I smiled reading messages sent from friends and received a few lovely cards and gifts (great pens and a lovely coaster with an “E” on it) from friends before school even started. A lovely student and her mom gave me a book and I happily received many birthday greetings from my class.

I was getting ready to eat lunch when a mom came down the hallway bearing a beautiful bouquet and a lunch that took my breath away! She is Korean and her daughter is in my class and knows my love of Korean food. I was treated to homemade bulgogi, kimbap, with fresh strawberries and oranges for dessert. She included a lovely card and I was felt so appreciated. At the end of the day, we enjoyed the yummy gingerbread cookies, my TA slipped me a beautiful card and is sent the class home (5-day break for them, teachers have a PD day tomorrow). As the parent who already gave me a book this morning passed me on the way to her after school activity she handed off freshly made banana bread-mmm.

Tonight I enjoyed a great Italian meal with friends and celebrated quietly. Actually way more birthday then I need, but I am so grateful to have such good friends. I have enough leftovers from the day that I can relive the memories in the days ahead. Today’s slice is way more than a slice- it is a generous serving of comfort, really feeling the love in my new home. When I try to rationalize my lost carrot cake recipe I can see it as an analogy for new ways in a new place (but I will be so happy if I find that card!).

 

5 thoughts on “Birthday Love!

  1. Aw, yay! Happy birthday! I hope the recipe turns up some day. I’m so glad you had a wonderful day full of delicious and thoughtful treats.

Leave a comment