They Have Discovered One of My Loves

EC9C5FC0-447F-4D90-B062-D0932842E357

#sol19- March 7, 2019

It started just two weeks ago and already I am feeling spoiled beyond belief! It started with a lunch date. Two weeks ago I invited one of my students to invite a friend and bring their lunch to the classroom. It was meant to be a treat for the first student, who had had a recent disappointment. The invited friend (from South Korea) surprised me by bringing in a Korean meal for me-bulgogi, japchae, and kimchi- yum! I happily enjoyed the leftovers at home later as well.

Her mom was thrilled to hear how much I enjoyed the lunch. Lo and behold last week was my birthday and that mom brought in another lunch for me-lucky, lucky, me! Again, leftovers were enjoyed!

Today, as I was racing across campus to supervise the students involved in the musical another mom stopped me (she is from North Korea). “I brought you a snack,” she smiled handing me a heavy container, “dumplings.”

I did not have time to really stop but passed on my thanks. A few minutes later, once the students had signed in I sneaked a peek (and okay, a dumpling too). Mmmm- there were two kinds of dumplings- mandu and stuffed rice balls in tofu skin. I gave away one of each to a friend, but the rest were all mine! They were so good, so full of flavor, that even though I thought I would save some for tomorrow it did not happen-what a delicious dinner. I only wished I had pictures to share. I am truly spoiled. Clearly, the word is out that Ms. Erika loves Korean food!

7 thoughts on “They Have Discovered One of My Loves

  1. As the Beatles sang, “And in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make.” I love how your love for your students comes back to you in the concrete containers of Korean food! You are the teacher.

  2. Your post shows so much about you, especially that you are the kind of person who tries and enjoyes new things. It also shows that you have found a welcoming, kind new home!

Leave a comment