Duh! Was There Ever Any Doubt?!

EC9C5FC0-447F-4D90-B062-D0932842E357

#sol19- March 17, 2019

I placed my order on February 7, so was there ever any doubt that it would come in yesterday- right at the start of a suuuper busy week?! Dress rehearsal for the musical all Saturday afternoon, after school rehearsals Monday-Thursday, and then performances Friday and Saturday mean there is little wiggle room- I have already been stressed about how I will find a way to slice…

So, yesterday at the end of rehearsal I checked my phone- there was the email I had been waiting for… my order was in. I promptly emailed a friend who had offered to check on my order when she visited the store this weekend- she had unfortunately already been there and at that point, they told her my order was not in, yet a few hours later here was my email.

So, duh, what did I do Sunday morning, but head out to pick up the order. The bookstore is pretty far away-30-45 minutes, depending on traffic, but Sunday mornings mean little traffic, so boom! I called a tuk-tuk and off I went.

download.jpg
Not the actual one I was in.

On the weekends I use an app to call a tuk-tuk and I often fear for my life as these drivers rush through the streets. Try as I might to brake from the back seat, it just does not work. I swear I never go the same way twice, (which could have something to do with many tuk-tuk drivers seeming unable to read a map on their phone, but I digress) but there are some landmarks that I go by.

I know we are about halfway there when we get to the flyover. My clue that we are getting close is the briny smell of the chili snails out in the heat too long.

IMG_2405.JPG

IMG_2404.JPG

Next up is the section of handmade wooden furniture shops and my nose is grateful.

I know we are really close when we get to the part of the street where there are many gardening centers- we are really in the suburbs now.

We turn to corner and makro is in sight- just a few hundred meters and the convention center is in viewIMG_2408.JPG

IMG_2409.JPG
I know, it does not look like a convention center, but…

and all we have to do then is pull in to the mall parking lot.

Today’s mission was simple- stop at a stationery store to replenish supplies, look for a hand blender, and go to the bookstore- six books were waiting for me and five more found their way into my basket. 50 Ways to Feel Happy will be perfect for the International Day of Happiness coming up this week!  I buy a copy of I Wish You More every time I see it because it is the best gift.

IMG_2421.jpeg

In and out pretty quickly! Once home, of course, I “had” to read a few books before settling down to my school work…If I do not read the books today I will not get a chance for a while, as I know some readers who are waiting eagerly for the latest shipment. So, duh, there really was no question that I would drop everything and rush to the book store, not if you know me at all!

7 thoughts on “Duh! Was There Ever Any Doubt?!

  1. Love that you were willing to drop it all to get to the book store. Your digression made me laugh– Try as I might to brake from the back seat, it just does not work. I swear I never go the same way twice, (which could have something to do with many tuk-tuk drivers seeming unable to read a map on their phone, but I digress) . AND, I love seeing the pictures– it was a photo tour with a story to go along with it. Enjoy your books!

  2. Getting to see the places in photos as you describe them in words was a real treat. I admire your commitment to getting those books despite all the pressures you are under right now. After reading this, I feel I do know you a little bit. You love books and you love your kids. Enjoy all of it; I’m guessing you do.

  3. In the beginning, there was an urgency to get the books. This urgency changed once I saw the photos! This was not a simple drive to the store, but a real journey! Thanks for sharing a glimpse to your international life.

  4. Oh my — that is a story of dedication for book access for students. I will share this when teachers complain the book room is too far from their classroom. I love how your voice came through this piece — I was on that tuk-tuk with you. Those are some great books – how lucky are your students?!

  5. Such a great book haul! Totally worth the drive. I can so relate by figuring out where I am by landmarks. I have no idea what any road is called here, but when I see a particular store or bakso cart, I know where I am!

  6. There is Nowhere better than the bookstore. I love your description about being in the backseat. We live four blocks from the center of town and our bookstore. I could go there every single day and browse for hours.

  7. Of course you went to the book store! I have to wait for the mail for my deliveries and it is not always easy to get there on time. I love the photos and descriptions of your trip. Happy reading!

Leave a comment