Poetry for a Better World

#sol22- January 18, 2022

There is nothing I enjoy more than starting a new year with poetry! I am in a new grade level this school year but turned to last year’s favorite, Dictionary for a Better World.

PS This book is available on Epic, so each student can look at their own copy, but you will want to own a view “real copies too”!

Over the break I mapped out the basics of the unit, connected to a unit of inquiry on Sharing the Planet. We started with a poetry marathon, inspired by Terje. So much fun to traverse the campus, writing, especially since we were welcoming three new students. Bit by bit we are introducing different forms of poetry- all wonderfully modeled in Dictionary for a Better World. The book is a stunning creation- co-written by Charles Waters and Irene Latham with amazing illustrations by Mehrdokht Amini. It is written in ABC order with each poem focusing on a different concept. Each poem is accompanied by some thoughts by the author and a try this blurb- inspiring action. There are 47 different poem forms included in the text and each is defined in a way that makes it accessible to our fifth graders. Charles Waters even performs the poems he wrote for the book on his YouTube channel.

I made my own models of each type of poem forms I wanted to introduce to the students and each day we are digging in. We are reading, writing, and creating up a storm. The students’ poems are full of inspiration, wise words, humor, and significance- they are inspired and it shows! They keep adding to their poetry heart (thank you, Georgia Heard) and thanks to the Padlet of resources we have shared with they are all finding online options, in addition to the poetry books and stories in verse to explore.

We end each session with sharing and “give snaps” to the many brave poets who share their words. Today a teaching assistant who is not usually in our room was in awe of the joy and engagement and remarked, “I am learning so much. I did not know about these different kinds of poems.” It is so fun to see the spontaneous editing and revising sessions as students seek out peer feedback.

“I wrote another persona poem,” C. said, as she began reading.

“Oh, I think I know whose perspective this is!” H. exclaimed.

“I am collecting more lines for my next cento,” L said. (I had never heard of this form until I read the book, and here these fifth graders are reveling in the word play).

I am so excited that this will continue for the next several weeks! These fifth grade poets are rocking writing for a better world!

4 thoughts on “Poetry for a Better World

  1. Wow, this book sounds amazing. Your fifth graders have convinced me. I love their writerly conversations. (Erika, have you posted on Two Writing Teachers today?)

  2. I love this book and reading about how it’s inspiring you and your students. I hope it’s okay for me to share this post with some of my former colleagues.

Leave a comment